{phfr}

August 11, 2011

Pretty

I said last week that I was going to participate in {pretty, happy, funny, real} and I meant it. Come hell or high water. And by the way, now that I analyze that phrase it’s pretty funny. Hell OR high water? High water is worse?

Today’s post will be pretty Johannah-centric. I apologize in advance. For those of you who don’t know, she’s my younger (and only) sister and she left today for grad school in North Carolina after two years of living near us in Wheaton. It was the first time I’d lived near her in my adult life, not to mention the first time we’d lived together as friends. It’s been a critical two years – which is to say the best, sister-wise, we’ve ever had.

So my pretty picture is of a tree in Lake Ellyn park under which Piggle and I went to sit after Auntie Jo left. I wanted to get a good shot of the lake with the tall trees in the foreground but my wide-angle lens seems to flatten everything in a scene like that by making it all appear farther away. I have a lot to learn about photography. So I took a shot of the tree above us. Today is one of the rare, perfect 80 degree sunny days in Illinois this Summer. I felt like basking.

Happy

My mom drove through Glen Ellyn three times this week for a wedding in LaPorte then back with my Grandma and Aunt Wendy accompanied by two of her kids: Gabbie and Micaiah. Gabbie, 12, stayed with us on Monday. She helped me with groceries, (and how!) went with Piggle, Johannah and me to the pool and made decorations for Johannah’s going-away party. We decided that with Grandma there and not likely to be through any time soon again we should take a 4 generation picture. Three red-heads out of four isn’t bad. 🙂

Funny

I promised Jo that, in the absence of Skype (because our computers are old and dying with nary a webcam in sight), I would post a weekly video of Gilead. I will do that, but I came up with a spur of the moment idea that I like just as much and will be easier to pull off, probably. So what you see here is a blooper from the very first “Daily Piggle.” We have a few of those from today. It was quite hilarious trying to get him to a) sit on the couch without trying to crawl off while b) holding a piece of paper and c) not eating it.

Real

I took this last night after we got home from seeing Harry Potter. Piggle had his last Auntie Jo night for awhile and unfortunately screamed for most of it. He has evidently lost his taste for a bottle of any kind. This was after I got home and rescued her from screaming buddy. This morning when she came over to say a final goodbye – it feels like she’s been saying goodbye all week but it didn’t make it any easier – we both cried when she held him. It’s going to take awhile to get used to not having her. AND, this is coming on a most unfortunate week where Henry has to take a week-long work trip. He’s leaving me tomorrow morning! I know a lot of women deal with traveling husbands often but I hate it and hope that when he gets another job he never has to do it. Anyway, enough of my bellyaching. Piggle and I miss you, Jojo! Can’t wait to see you again soon.

Leave a Reply

